September 1, 2012 through August 31, 2014 Biennium
Continuing Education Requirements
1. Q: How many contact hours of continuing education (CE) are needed for this licensing period?
A: A minimum of twenty-four (24) hours of continuing education provided by Florida Board of Clinical Laboratory Personnel Approved CE Providers must be obtained between September 1, 2012 through August 31, 2014 by all Florida licensed clinical laboratory personnel.
2. Q: What courses are required by the Board of Clinical Laboratory Personnel?
A: As part of the 24 hours, each biennium, all clinical laboratory personnel must take a minimum of:
1. 1 hour course on HIV/AIDS (required by Section 381.0034, Florida Statutes)
2. 2 hour course in Prevention of Medical Errors (required by Section 456.031, Florida Statutes)
3. 1 hour course in Florida Laws and Rules on the regulation of laboratory personnel (required by Board rule).
3. Q: What specialty areas courses did I need to take?
A: A minimum of 1 contact hour of continuing education in each specialty (category) area you are licensed in must be completed each biennium by all laboratory personnel. However, Supervisors and Directors must also take a one hour course in administration and supervision.
4. Q: Am I allowed to complete an elective course that I find interesting if I am not licensed in that area or category?
A: Yes, you may complete an elective course in any specialty or in any general area. Our Sexual Misconduct, Discrimination and Harassment and Health Information Technology two hour credit courses qualify as elective courses for all lab personnel.
5. Q: What are the CE requirements for persons NEWLY LICENSED during the current biennium?
A: The Board rule exempts new licensees from taking the 24 hours of CE for the first biennium license period. However, all new licensees must take a 2 hour Prevention of Medical Errors and a 1 hour HIV/AIDS course during the first biennium. These courses are required by Florida Statutes and the Board cannot waive these requirements.
6. Q: What are the course requirements for APPLICANTS for INITIAL LICENSURE?
A: Persons applying for licensure for the first time, not those increasing their level of licensure, must take a 1 hour course in HIV/AIDS and a 2 hour course in Prevention of Medical Errors. Applicants may take our Prevention of Medical Errors and HIV/AIDS courses. Submit copies of your Certificates or other course information to the Board along with your other application materials.
7. Q: When will I receive my license renewal notice from the state of Florida?
A: The Board mails the postcard renewal notices approximately 90-120 days before the end of the biennium. The notices are mailed to the mailing address you have given the Board.
8. Q: How do I change my address with the Board of Clinical Laboratory Personnel?
A: Send a letter to the Board of Clinical Laboratory Personnel, 4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin #C07, Tallahassee, Fl. 32399-3257. Or send an e-mail by going to the Board web site: http://www.doh.state.fl.us/mqa/ClinLab/clp_general.html and select the "Update your address" link on the left side of the page.
How to Order and Complete the Courses
9. Q: How do I order courses?
A: For the first time that you order from our company, go to the New Member Profile section on the Order Page and fill it in. Fields marked with an asterisk are required. Create (and remember) your Login Name and Password, you'll need these later to login to the Member Section to access the courses, tests, and Certificates. Your login name and password are case and space sensitive. If you have previously ordered courses from our company, use the Member Section on the Order Page, and the new courses you order will be added to your previous Account.
10. Q. Where and why do I put in my Florida License number or what if I am an Applicant or licensed in another state or certified in another state?
A: To correctly enter your Florida license number, do not use the two or three letter prefix for your profession or the zeros that appear before your license number. We are required to submit your information to CE Broker using your Florida license number. You can take our courses if you are not licensed in Florida. If you are not licensed in Florida, put in "applicant" or "student." Do not enter a license number from another state or from a certifying organization.
**NOTE: If you are a Trainee, you are not a licensee, so your information is not sent to CE Broker. So put in Applicant or Student, please, instead of your Trainee number.
11. Q: How does the secure site work, and what sort of security is being used for my credit, bank or debit card information?
A: Once you have entered your order information, you will be sent to a PayPal page to enter your bank card (Visa or MasterCard only) information. The secure pages where your card information is entered are hosted by VeriSign (now owned by PayPal), one of the leading security companies on the net. VeriSign has added a Secure Socket Layer (or SSL) to protect these pages. An SSL is an industry standard protocol for encrypting data to prevent eavesdropping or message forging. Once you submit your credit card information, transaction approval is almost instantaneous. You will also receive an e-mail receipt to print out for your records.
12. Q: What do I do after I've paid? / How do I get my courses?
A: Once your card is approved, you can go immediately to the Member Login page by using the button at the bottom of the page. Enter the Login Name and Password exactly as you entered them during the course purchase. Your personal Account will open. On this page there is a list of courses you ordered and your contact information. Open the links for "Review Course Materials" and "Take the Test" as often as needed to complete the courses. Access your Account anytime from any computer. Go to our website, and hit "Member Login" and enter your Login Name and Password.
13. Q: How do I change my Account contact information?
A: Login to your Account via the Member Login link. Use the "Update Contact Info" button on the bottom of the page. Once you have made the changes, enter your password to confirm the changes. However, for security purposes, if you need to add or change your license number or your name, please e-mail us and we will make the changes. We do not sell or use your contact information in any way, but if you are licensed in Florida we submit your name and license number to CE Broker, along with a list of courses you complete.
Course Taking Procedures
14. Q: How long do I have to take the courses?
A: Our courses are self-paced. The course is not timed. The test is not timed. You can take as long as your need, and open your Account as many times as necessary to complete the courses and tests, using any computer. You can review the course materials in any format you wish (online, off line, in print). However, you must take the course test online.
15. Q: What are the testing procedures? / How many times can I take the test?
A: Tests must be taken online. All tests in the CEHCPRO system are in a "true / false" format with any blank answers counting as wrong. A score of 70% or more is passing. You can take the test as many times as necessary to pass. Once you pass the test, a new window appears which contains your Certificate of course completion. Open your Account and print a copy any time in the future.
16. Q: What if I forget my Login Name and Password?
A. It happens all the time! Go to the Member Login page and enter your name and the e-mail address you provided when you ordered the courses. Your Password will be e-mailed to you. If you have changed your e-mail address, or need your Login Name, then e-mail your request to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Information on CE Broker
17. Q: What is CE Broker?
A: "CE Broker" is a private company that tracks the continuing education courses taken by all 500,000 health care practitioners licensed by the Florida Department of Health. The Department contracted with CE Broker to perform this service free to the state, but CE Broker makes money by charging licensees $35 to subscribe to its services for two years. Here is how it works: all of the CE Course Providers are required to register their courses with CE Broker, and to submit the names and license number of the licensees who take CE courses from that Provider. CE Broker gathers this information and creates a "transcript" for each licensee showing their name, profession, license number, name of course taken and number of hours for each course. Note: CE Broker does not keep records from Applicants or Trainees or licensees from another state. For more information visit the CE Broker website: www.cebroker.com
18. Q: Is CE for Health Care Professionals complying with the new rules?
A: Yes, once you successfully complete a course, we immediately, automatically and electronically (from our computer to their computer) send your course completion records to CE Broker using your Florida license number. We also keep all course completion records for 4 years. Note that we do not send information on Applicants, Students, Trainees or Temporary licensee course credits to CE Broker.
19. Q: Do health care licensees have to subscribe to CE Broker in order to have their license renewed?
A: No, subscription to CE Broker is not mandatory and is completely voluntary. A licensee can and should keep their own records of the CE courses they have taken; in fact, Board rules require the licensee to keep their CE records for 4 years. Further, CE Providers must report their attendance records to CE Broker. If this is done, CE Broker will have a complete transcript for ALL licensees.
20. Q: Can I find out my CE records from CE Broker without being a subscriber?
A: No, not unless you subscribe; however, any records of CE Broker are "public records" under the state of Florida public records law, Chapter 119, Florida Statutes. The Department of Health states that they will provide a "list of courses taken" at the normal public records charge of $.15 a page. To obtain this list (without subscribing to CE Broker) contact the Department of Health, Division of Medical Quality Assurance, Bin C-01, Attention: Public Records-CE History, 4052 Bald Cypress Way, Tallahassee, FL 32399-3251.
21. Q: What should I do with my CE records? How does the CE Compliance Audit Process work? What is the monetary fine for not taking the CE courses?
A: Our advice is to keep all your CE certificates in one place and treat them like gold. The Department of Health announced that it will systematically audit all licensed health care professionals over the next several years using the CE Broker system. The Department selects a random percentage of licensees after the license renewal date. If CE Broker shows a complete transcript for the licensee, they will not be audited further. If the transcript is not complete, the audit process is started. Licensees who fail to complete their CE will be sent to their licensing Board for discipline. The Board of Clinical Laboratory Personnel first time monetary $ fine for failure to take the CE courses is $50 per credit missing or incomplete (for example: 24 credits missing $50 X 24 is $1,200) and the Board's investigative costs (usually another $250). The fine for failure to keep your address current is also $250, plus investigative costs.
22. Q: Who do I contact if I have additional questions or need HELP?
A: Contact the support personnel for CE for Health Care Professionals. See the Contact Us page. It is best to e-mail your questions. We reply quickly. Include your name and profession. We welcome comments, corrections, and questions. We will respond and THANK YOU for taking our courses.